Quartet comes to the Cotswolds

Contact Us
info@cotswoldswebsite.com

Website design and hosting by Commatic


Cotswold Blog

The Cotswold Blog is a collection of diary entries, news, gossip and other Cotswold related information.

Quartet comes to the Cotswolds

Venues across the Cotswold District are in for a treat this May as the star studded movie Quartet - directed by Dustin Hoffman and starring national treasures Maggie Smith, Michael Gambon, Tom Courtenay and Billy Connolly - is shown as part of the Rural Cinema scheme. Quartet is set in a home for retired musicians, where the annual concert to celebrate Verdi’s Birthday is disrupted by the arrival of Jean (Maggie Smith), an eternal diva and the former wife of one of the residents.

Commenting on the screening of Quartet, Sarah Lewis, Rural Cinema Coordinator, said:
“We’re thrilled to be able to show such a popular new film. Our screenings of Argo and Skyfall earlier this year were hugely appreciated and we are hoping to have the same success with Quartet!”

She continued:
“The Rural Cinema scheme has been operating since 2003, and has visited at least 27 venues across the Cotswold District. We provide new entertainment and encourage local groups to take on the promotion and management of the events. The aim is to bring a high quality film experience to rural isolated areas and, in doing so, help to rejuvenate local communities. ”

The dates and locations of Quartet showings are as follows:

North Cotswolds
Thursday 2nd May – Naunton
Wednesday 8th May – Snowshill
Thursday 9th May – Brockhampton
Tuesday 14th May – Stanton
Wednesday 15th May – Laverton
Thursday 16th May – Little Wolford
Saturday 18th May – Bourton-on-the-Hill
Monday 20th May – Bourton-on-the-Water
Tuesday 21st May – Oddington
Thursday 30th May – Weston-Sub-Edge

South Cotswolds
Saturday 27th & Sunday 28th April – Corinium Museum, Cirencester
Friday 3rd May – Daglingworth
Wednesday 8th May – North Cerney
Thursday 9th May – France Lynch
Friday 10th May – Didmarton
Tuesday 14th May – Bisley
Thursday 16th May – Withington
Sunday 19th May – Lechlade
Monday 20th May – Kemble
Tuesday 21st May – Frampton Mansell
Wednesday 22nd May – Ampney Crucis
Tuesday 28th May – Bibury
Thursday 30th May – Stratton
Saturday 1st June - Windrush

Information about all the Rural Cinema screenings can be found at www.cotswold.gov.uk

Posted : 17/04/2013 11:01:36

Other recent Cotswolds news items

Scout Group set to benefit from council grant

Plans for the interior fit out of a Scout Group hut in Chipping Norton have been given an £18,000 funding boost from West Oxfordshire District Council. The new fit out is for a brand new hut to be... [more]

Woodstock's outdoor heated pool reopens for summer on Saturday 22

Woodstock's outdoor heated swimming pool reopens for summer on Saturday 22 April. With a 25 metre main pool and a depth of 3.5 metres, it is ideal for diving enthusiasts and there is a separate pa... [more]

Youth club to build new home after major grant funding

Members of a youth club are celebrating after councillors agreed a £50,000 grant to help build their new purpose-built home. The Woodstock Youth Centre will now press ahead with its plans to const... [more]

To view the full Cotswold Blog, click here

Adverts